The warranty page is the spec that decides this
What every maker publishes, in wording you can read before you buy, is who pays when a case comes back broken. That varies more across these eight than any material does.
The range runs from Samsonite, whose terms exclude carrier damage, to Briggs & Riley and Victorinox, whose lifetime warranties name airline damage.
Between those ends, Travelpro, TUMI and Away each attach conditions that the comparison table sets out.
Read as a ranking, that list shrinks the shell question. A polycarbonate case whose maker excludes carrier damage leaves you carrying the whole risk however the shell holds up. A nylon case with a no-questions lifetime repair policy transfers it.
Hardside and softside as the makers describe them
Three of the four hardside cases publish the same headline material, 100% polycarbonate. Samsonite adds a scratch-resistant micro-diamond texture, Travelpro a textured finish, and Away nothing beyond the material name. Victorinox is the exception. Its US collection page and the Amazon listing describe the Werks Traveler 6.0 Hardside as a V-TriX triple-layered polypropylene composite, while a separate regional Victorinox page calls the same case 100% pure polycarbonate. Two manufacturer sources disagree, and nothing retrieved resolves it.
The softside pages vary at least as much. Briggs & Riley publishes ballistic nylon with no further qualifier. Travelpro’s VersaPack+ is high-density ballistic nylon with a DuraGuard coating for stain and abrasion resistance. TUMI’s Alpha 3 uses FXT ballistic nylon, a proprietary reinforced weave listed as 98% ballistic nylon and 2% cowhide leather trim. Victorinox describes the Werks Traveler 6.0 Softside only as extra-strong, abrasion-resistant nylon, without the word ballistic and without a denier figure.
The comparison you can actually make is between the specificity of the names. A named composite, weave or coating tells you the maker engineered something beyond the base material. It does not tell you how much.
Wheels and corners take the hits
Wheel count is the clearest published difference among the eight. Travelpro’s VersaPack+ lists eight 360° MagnaTrac self-aligning spinner wheels. Victorinox’s hardside lists a 4-wheel dual-caster arrangement with 8-wheel contact, using Hinomoto wheels with Lisof silent tires, and the Victorinox softside lists the same dual-caster Hinomoto and Lisof hardware without spelling out the count. Samsonite, Away, Briggs & Riley and TUMI each publish four. Briggs & Riley calls its four shock-absorbing. Travelpro’s Platinum Elite Hardside names MagnaTrac self-aligning magnetic wheels, but the retrieved page does not state how many.
Corner reinforcement is a one-product column. Apart from the Platinum Elite, no product page retrieved for this guide names any corner or edge reinforcement, hardside or softside. That absence does not mean the other corners are bare. It means the maker has published nothing you can check.
Put the two together and no pick leads on both. The Victorinox hardside and the VersaPack+ publish the most wheel contact. The Platinum Elite stands alone on corners, with a wheel count it does not state.
Empty weight against your airline’s allowance
A case’s own weight is packing room you give up before anything goes in. The published figures:
- Samsonite Omni PC: 10.35 lb
- Victorinox Werks Traveler 6.0 Softside: 10.8 lb on the search-indexed Victorinox page, 10.71 lb on a retailer listing
- Travelpro Crew VersaPack+: 10.9 lb
- Victorinox Werks Traveler 6.0 Hardside: 4.7 kg (about 10.4 lb) on one Victorinox page, 5.10 kg (11.24 lb) in a second source
- Away The Large: 12.1 lb
- Travelpro Platinum Elite Hardside: 12.8 lb
- TUMI Alpha 3 Medium Trip: 16.7 lb
- Briggs & Riley Baseline: not published
The Samsonite’s 10.35 lb is the lightest settled figure. The Victorinox hardside’s two published figures disagree, so that comparison cannot be awarded. The Victorinox softside and the VersaPack+ are within a quarter pound of each other and should be read as a tie.
The category does not predict the weight. The heaviest published case is softside, the next two heaviest are hardside, and the lightest settled figure is hardside. Briggs & Riley is the only maker here that publishes no empty weight at all, which matters most for the one bag you cannot put on a scale before buying.
Expansion: one more moving part, or none
Away’s The Large is the only pick without an exterior expansion mechanism. Its page describes an interior compression system instead, and capacity stays at the published 104 L. Every other case publishes expansion, and the mechanisms differ:
- Samsonite Omni PC: zippered, added capacity not quantified
- Travelpro Platinum Elite Hardside: 2-inch zippered expansion
- Travelpro Crew VersaPack+: tapered design, up to 2 in
- TUMI Alpha 3: Lever Lock two-stage system, up to 2 in (5 cm)
- Victorinox Hardside: expands 3 cm (about 1.2 in)
- Victorinox Softside: expands up to 4 cm (about 1.6 in)
- Briggs & Riley Baseline: One-Touch CX, depth from 12 in to about 14.5 in, up to 22% more capacity
By its own depth figures, Briggs & Riley’s is the largest published expansion at about 2.5 in. Briggs & Riley is also the only maker here to publish a zipper spec, self-repairing YKK RC zippers with lockable double pulls.
Expansion changes the size figure you check against your airline. Briggs & Riley publishes 61 linear inches compressed and 65.5 expanded. Travelpro publishes 62 in for both of its cases, wheels and handles included. If your airline states a linear-inch rule, the expanded figure is the one to compare.
No retrieved source says how any expansion mechanism holds up in handling. What the pages establish is which case has one, which kind, and how much it adds. The handling argument for Away is structural: a sealed case has one moving part fewer, at the cost of a fixed 104 L.
Matching a case to how you travel
If you want the maker, not the airline, to fix handling damage with the least paperwork, the Briggs & Riley Baseline is the only pick whose guarantee says no proof of purchase and no questions asked. Both Victorinox cases name airline damage for life as well, though the hardside’s material is contradicted across Victorinox’s own pages and its weight differs between sources.
If you want a polycarbonate shell with published protection at the corners, the Travelpro Platinum Elite Hardside is the only option, and the airline coverage that comes with it depends on registration. Skip that step and you fall back to a lifetime warranty on wheels, zippers and handles that does not name airline damage.
If you pack to the limit, the Samsonite, the VersaPack+ and the Victorinox softside leave the most allowance. The Samsonite is the lightest settled figure and its warranty excludes carrier damage, so choosing it is choosing weight over coverage.
If you need the most room, the VersaPack+ publishes 130 L. The Platinum Elite and the TUMI publish 108 L, Away and the Victorinox softside 104 L, and the Victorinox hardside 103 L. Samsonite and Briggs & Riley publish no liter figure.
If you travel with a suit, the TUMI is the only pick that publishes a removable garment sleeve. It costs you 16.7 lb before packing, and its airline-damage coverage ends after 12 months.
When a defect-only warranty is enough
Samsonite’s 10-year warranty on materials and workmanship covers a wheel or zipper that fails on its own for a decade, and the case is the lightest settled weight here. If airline damage is a risk you are willing to take to the airline’s counter yourself, the exclusion costs you nothing. If surviving airline handling is why you are reading this, it is the one pick whose maker has told you in advance it will not help.
Away’s 5 years of repairs for “unexpected rough travel” may serve someone comfortable describing a damaged case to support and seeing whether it qualifies. The gap is only that the wording never commits to airline incidents, where Briggs & Riley, Victorinox, Travelpro and TUMI all name them.
What the evidence does not settle
Seven of the eight picks publish no corner reinforcement. Victorinox’s hardside carries conflicting material figures across the maker’s own pages and conflicting weights across sources, and its softside product page returned an error on direct retrieval, so that case’s specs rest on search-indexed copy and the Amazon listing. TUMI’s site could not be reached either, so the Alpha 3 figures come from search-indexed manufacturer copy and a specialty retailer’s listing. And none of the eight publishes inline wheels, so the question of spinner versus inline durability cannot be answered from this set at all.